How it all began

They say that those who can’t do, coach. In my case, I suppose that’s true.

My cheer career lasted a mere six years. It was brought to an abrupt end when I was sixteen by a slipping/floating patella and severe cartilage loss in my knee. When I could no longer handle the impact of jumping or flipping (even while wearing a Forest Gump worthy knee brace), I knew it was time to hang up my bow.

After giving up cheer, I had a lot of extra time on my hands, so I threw myself into coaching. I had been student demonstrating since I was in middle school, but I had never actually coached a squad. I dove into coaching headfirst, and started helping out with Pop Warner and all star squads, and I even started my own cheer group at the local YMCA.

Once I started coaching, I knew I had found my calling. I’ve now been coaching for seven years, and I’m still as excited and passionate about it as I was when I was sixteen. I enjoy coaching and I give it my all. I can’t get enough of it—which is why I now coach 15 squads.  (:

Leave a Reply

